This market-leading text successfully combines an academically robust account of the major theories and models of leadership with an accessible style and practical examples that help students apply what they learn.
The Fourth Editionof Peter G. Northouse's bestselling Introduction to Leadership: Concepts and Practiceprovides readers with a clear overview of the complexities of practicing leadership and concrete strategies for becoming better leaders. The text is organized around key leader responsibilities such as creating a vision, establishing a constructive climate, listening to outgroup members, and overcoming obstacles.
John Adair, Britain's foremost expert on leadership training, shows how every manager can learn to lead. He draws upon numerous examples of leadership in action - commercial, military and historical - to pinpoint the essential requirements.
This volume provides practical tips and ideas about how current and prospective managers and leaders can enhance their leadership development in organisations. It is written for practitioners in organisations who design and implement management development processes on an on-going basis.
Explores complex issues related to leading others, providing simple and practical guidance which can be readily applied, regardless of your current level or seniority as a leader.
Elastic Leadership is a practical, experience-driven guide to team leadership. In it, you''ll discover a set of values, techniques, and practices to lead your team to success. First, you''ll learn what elastic leadership is and explore the phases of this results-oriented framework. Then, you''ll see it in practice through stories, anecdotes, and advice provided by successful leaders in a variety of disciplines, all annotated by author and experienced team leader, Roy Osherove.
As in Start with Why , Sinek illustrates his ideas with fascinating true stories, from the military to manufacturing, from government to investment banking. He shows that leaders who are willing to eat last are rewarded with deeply loyal colleagues who will stop at nothing to advance their vision. It's amazing how well it works.
Team Lead Succeed provides learning and practical suggestions to help teams achieve high-performance teamwork and effectiveness, by better understanding WHO is in your team and HOW effective your teamwork is in 16 areas of teamwork.
Leading others, whether in a one-on-one situation or in groups, can be daunting. This quick and easy book explains how to acquire the necessary leadership skills required for every workplace situation, and provides key techniques for coaching effectively and resolving conflicts. Each 10 minute lesson is packed with tips and ideas for how to maximize the performance of employees and others.
Leadership and The One Minute Manager goes straight to the heart of management as it describes the effective, adaptive styles of Situational Leadership. In clear and simple terms it teaches how to become a flexible and successful leader, fitting your style to the needs of the individual and to the situation at hand, and using the One Minute Manager techniques to enhance the motivation of others.
In seven chapters, this book will walk you through the entire process of successfully leading and managing a team, showing you the key dos and don'ts and spelling out where you need to put special attention and focus.
Edgar Schein draws on a wide range of contemporary research to redefine culture and demonstrate the crucial role leaders play in successfully applying the principles of culture to achieve their organizational goals.
Dr Covey introduces the four roles of the new leader - modelling, pathfinding, aligning and empowering - and how those qualities can change you and your organisation. He discusses how trust can be lost throughout organisations and how it is imperative that any organisation bring trust back to the company if it is to survive.
Bestselling author Daniel Goleman argues that emotionally intelligent leaders are now 'must-haves' for business today. But many readers have been left with, So now what do I do? The New Leaders answers that question by laying out the map for transforming leadership in individuals, in teams and organizations.
Written in an accessible and engaging style, the book examines a range of central theoretical and practical issues, including the nature of group identity, the basis of authority and legitimacy, the dynamics of justice and fairness, the determinants of followership and charisma, and the practice and politics of leadership.
This book makes visible the work that the language of leadership does in perpetuating fictions that are useful for bosses of work organizations. We do this so that we - and anyone who shares similar discomforts - can make a start in unravelling the fiction. We contend that even if our views are contrary to the vast and powerful leadership industry, our basic arguments rest on things that are plain and evident for all to see.
Explains the ways leaders can build trust in three stages of their career: as an individual contributor, as a team member, and as a leader of an organization. Through profiling a trustworthy leader, Bob Lintz, and his career at General Motors, this text illustrates how leaders can be intentional in leading themselves, their teams, and their organizations by building the ROCC of Trust (be reliable, open and honest, competent, and compassionate).
This book is about helping you to become your best self and helping those around you to achieve their best. Inherently it's about authenticity, integrity, and empathy and how these simple traits can lead to high performance. The book explores ways to make our leadership more authentic and to lead with integrity. It discusses how to mentor employees and how this can lead to higher-performing teams and more successful organizations.
Skillfully weaving science, history, exemplars, poetry, and quotes with stories and practices, Wheatley asks us to be Warriors for the Human Spirit, leaders and citizens who stay engaged, choose service over self, stand steadfast in the midst of crises, and offer our reliable presence of compassion and insight no matter what.
A complete list of journals can be found on the Publication Finder.
Library books are organised by call numbers on the spine of the books. Use the Library Catalogue to see if the item is available in the library.
Useful call numbers for Change Leadership include the following:
TUS Library provides access to thousands of eBooks in many subject areas. Our eBooks are available on different platforms: EBSCO, Ebook Central and ScienceDirect. You can access eBooks wherever and whenever you need them.
Explore eBook Collections guide to learn how to find and use eBooks.
Many databases allow you to discover relevant journal articles by searching with keywords.
Team Leadership will assist team leaders and members to become more effective by helping them to understand teams better. This book brings together theories and research on team development, team functioning, managing teams, team growth and more! It also describes tools and techniques that can be used to raise the performance levels of teams and help them to function optimally.
Theo H Veldsman and Andrew J Johnson, two internationally recognized thought leaders on leadership, teamed up with over 80 contributors to produce the most comprehensive and “biggest” business leadership book. This mammoth title focuses on the challenges leaders face today and provides a way forward for developing leaders in uncertain times. Leadership: Perspectives from the Front Line, offers a holistic overview of leadership.
In Understanding Leadership, 14 thought-leaders cover various leadership themes. The book also features inspirational leadership stories.
Laura Stack shows you how you can help your employees navigate the upcoming changes they will face. • Understand the nature of change. • Determine why change is so stressful for you and your staff. • Describe the characteristics of the four stages of change. • Evaluate where other people fall in the change cycle. • Discover leadership strategies to help others move through each stage more quickly.
This book provides readers with a framework of ten ingredients distilled from Rhea Duttagupta's extensive experience and research. She argues that these ingredients are innate within us and that if we recognise their importance and enhance them within ourselves, they'll help us maximise our achievements and our leadership qualities.
In this volume, we ask who decides how to organize schools around criteria of ability and/or disability and what these decisions imply for leadership in schools. In line with this broader critical tradition of inquiry, this volume seeks to interrogate policies, research and personnel preparation practices which constitute interactions, discourses, and institutions that construct and enact ability and disability within the disciplinary field of education leadership.
The book discusses leadership styles in all different branches to grow the enterprise successfully. The author tells his real-life stories to illustrate his experiences and learnings in leadership. The book uses his practice-based theories to provide the scaffolding for others to think about and refine their approaches to lead and find personal fulfillment and happiness in life.
Strategy as Leadership is about making sense of predictable but drastic changes that can alter the relationship between businesses and their competition, posing substantial leadership challenges to senior management teams. Roberto S. Vassolo and Natalia Weisz provide a framework to address and respond to these critical changes by identifying them, describing the inner tensions these changes generate, and providing guidance for their successful navigation.
"Your only job is to help your players be better." That single idea had a huge impact on Tony Dungy when he heard it from one of his earliest mentors, and it led him to develop the successful leadership style so admired by players and coaches throughout the NFL. Now, a storied career and a Super Bowl victory later, Tony Dungy is sharing his unique leadership philosophy with you.
Be an transformational leader during times of rapid organizational change The Art of Change Leadership represents a major milestone in the study of change leadership. An approachable yet thorough guide for leaders and team members that illustrates how to increase speed and agility during times of intense technological innovation and fast change.
The Library, Technological University of the Shannon
